Crusader Kings III – Guide to Gold, Prestige, Piety, and More

Guide to gold, prestige, piety, and more in Crusader Kings III.

Guide to Gold, Prestige, Piety, and More


To help you further your goals you will need Gold. Among other things, Gold pays for Buildings, Armies, and bribes. Gold is collected passively from both your Holdings and your Vassals as Tax. Larger Vassals and more important Holdings tend to give more Tax.

However, money is not all — certain things can only be achieved by spending the right amount of Prestige or, for religious matters, Piety.

You can see the current state of your Gold, Prestige, and Piety in the bar to the top right.


Your Prestige tells us how respected you are. It can be earned over time (by holding lots of Titles, for example), or actively (such as by Marrying into prestigious Dynasties or fighting as an Ally in Wars).

Whenever you earn Prestige, you build towards your next Level of Fame. Higher Levels of Fame make other Characters think better of you, and bring powerful ways to wage War.

Some actions cost Prestige, like declaring a War. These allow you to leverage your celebrity for your own benefit, and Characters won’t think less of you for using them.

Spending Prestige does not affect your Level of Fame progress, just your current Prestige.


With a lot of Piety, you will have an easier time interacting with your Head of Faith. As you are Catholic, this is the Pope.

Piety can be gained passively from the Learning Skill and from Virtuous Traits, or actively from choosing to do religious things, such as going on a Pilgrimage.

You also have a Level of Devotion, which builds over time whenever you gain Piety and can have positive effects for your Character.

Similar to Prestige, some action require you to spend Piety, like declaring Holy Wars, or if you want to create a new Faith.

Spending Piety like this is normal, and Characters won’t think worse of you for it.


As well as Traits, your Character can also pick a Lifestyle. There are five Lifestyles, one for each skill.

Lifestyles represent what you put the most effort into day-to-day, and each one has several Focuses inside relating to it.

Every Focus gives you a unique bonus, and makes events associated with that Focus more likely to happen.


As long as you have Heirs of your Dynasty, your legacy will live on. When your Character dies, you simply start playing a new one: the Player Heir.

Depending on the type of Succession your Realm has, this is likely to be one of your children — perhaps one that you groomed into the role of a Ruler?

Your Dynasty has its own coat of arms, which is currently highlighted, and can be clicked for more information.

You don’t need to do anything with this now, but if you want to look at the details of your Dynasty later, it can be found here.

Succession Laws

Succession Laws determine how all Titles and resources are divided between the Heirs when a Character dies. You currently only have one Heir, but let’s take a look anyway!

In some cases, when you take over your new Character, you may even find that they are responsible for the untimely demise of your previous Ruler…


As a member of a Dynasty, you also have Renown. Shared by everyone in your Dynasty, Renown goes up whenever anyone in your Dynasty gets Prestige, and reflects how (in)famous your family is rather than just you.

Making significant strides in your Renown will echo down the generations for your descendants, slowly increasing your Level of Splendor. As the Dynasty Head (the most powerful member of your Dynasty), Renown will allow you to unlock Dynasty Legacies that will benefit all of you.

Unlike Prestige, Renown remains after a Character’s death.

To view the Dynastic Legacy of a Dynasty, click on your (or someone else’s) Dynasty shield.

Similar Posts:

Share your love

Leave a Reply